SOUTH YORKSHIRE PENSIONS AUTHORITY

ANNUAL MEETING

19 JUNE 2014

PRESENT: Councillor P Wootton (Chair)

Councillor R Wraith (Vice-Chair)

Councillors: E Butler, B Lodge, K Rodgers, A Sangar,

M Stowe, B Webster and J Wood

Trade Unions: G Boyington (Unison), G Warwick (GMB) and

F Tyas (UCATT)

Officers: A Frosdick (Monitoring Officer), I Rooth (Head of Technical Services BMBC), S Barker (Head of HR), R Bywater (Principal Policy and External Relations Officer), G Chapman (Head of Pensions Administration), M McCarthy (Deputy Monitoring Officer), S Smith (Head of Investments SYPA) and

C Tyler (Principal Policy and Communications Officer)

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor

J Campbell, Councillor S Ellis, Councillor L Rooney, F Foster

and J Hattersley

1 APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIR OF THE AUTHORITY FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

Cllr Wootton was proposed by Cllr Wraith and seconded by Cllr Rodgers. This was agreed unanimously.

RESOLVED - That Cllr Wootton be elected as the Chair of the Authority for the forthcoming year.

2 <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE VICE-CHAIR OF THE AUTHORITY FOR THE ENSUING</u> YEAR

Cllr Wraith was proposed by Cllr Wootton and seconded by Cllr Butler. This was agreed unanimously.

RESOLVED - That Cllr Wraith be elected Vice Chair of the Authority for the forthcoming year.

3 MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTHORITY

A report of the Clerk was submitted to note the membership of the membership of the Authority for the forthcoming year.

The membership was noted as:

Barnsley	Doncaster	Rotherham	Sheffield
Councillors	Councillors	Councillors	Councillors
M Stowe	E Butler	S Ellis	B Lodge
R Wraith	K Rodgers	P Wootton	J Campbell
	J Wood		B Webster
			L Rooney
			A Sangar

The Chair asked that the Authority's thanks to the councillors who have stood down from the Authority be recorded, especially Keith Goulty and David Baker who have served on the Authority for a significant time.

RESOLVED - That the report is noted.

4 APPOINTMENT OF BOARDS, COMMITTEES AND CHAIRS

A report of the Clerk was submitted requesting consideration of the appointment of Boards, Committee and Chairs for 2014/15 and asking Members to note the Boards and Committee's Terms of Reference.

Membership was confirmed as follows:

Corporate Planning and Governance Board	Investment Board	Management Committee
7 Members	7 Members	Section 41 Members
Cllr Wraith (Chair)	Cllr Wootton (Chair)	Cllr Wootton (Chair)
Cllr Wootton (Vice Chair)	Cllr Wraith (Vice Chair)	- sub Cllr Ellis
Cllr Ellis	Cllr Campbell	Cllr Wraith (Vice Chair)
Cllr Butler	Cllr Webster	- sub Cllr Stowe
Cllr Wood	Cllr Rodgers	Cllr Lodge
Cllr Rooney	Cllr Stowe	- sub Cllr Campbell
Cllr Lodge	Cllr Sangar	Cllr Rodgers
+ 3 Trade Union	+ 3 Trade Union	- sub - Cllr Butler
representatives	representatives	

RESOLVED - That the contents of the report are noted.

5 QUESTIONS IN MEETINGS OF DISTRICT COUNCILS

A report was received requesting Members consideration of the appointment of representatives of the Authority to answer questions raised in meetings of the District Councils and to feedback District Council pensions' issues at each meeting of the Pensions Authority.

Pensions Authority: Annual Meeting, Thursday 19 June 2014

Appointments were noted as follows:

Council	Spokesperson	Substitute
Barnsley MBC	Cllr Wraith	Cllr Stowe
Doncaster MBC	Cllr Rodgers	Cllr Butler
Rotherham MBC	Cllr Wootton	Cllr Ellis
Sheffield CC	Cllr Lodge	Cllr Campbell

RESOLVED - That the Authority nominates the above Members to answer questions at District Councils under Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985.

CHAIR